Puerto Rican Bean Soup

(recette en français, plus bas)

One of the reasons I like to participate in blog events is that it is a great way to go out of my usual food routine, inspire me in using some ingredients or is pushing me to do some research about yet unknown cuisines…

When I read that Joanne had chosen Puerto Rico for her monthly regional recipes event, I had to do some research about Puerto Rican food. I had never tried Caribbean food so far… Well, being a vegetarian, things were slightly more complicated than I expected… But finally, I opted for a black bean soup, which sounded pretty good to me.

I really meant to follow the recipe, but once I was all set for the recipe, I realized that I had forgotten the main ingredient: black beans… I replaced it by kidney beans, that I thought would look and taste similar…

The result was very tasty and filling. I will definitely make it again, when the weather will be a little cooler (soon…).

I am sending this soup to Joanne‘s Regional Recipes: Puerto Rico.

and to Kouky’s soupes du Ramadhan on her blog (in French): Cuisine à quatre mains.

Ingredients   for about 4 bowls:

recipe adapted from here

300 g cooked black beans (I used red kidney beans…)
2 tablespoons oil
1 big onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely crushed
2 green pepper,chopped
1 tomato, cut
2 chilies, chopped
1 carrot , cut
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon cumin powder
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne chili
salt and pepper
1 tablespoon Vinegar
1 spoon of cooked rice per serving bowl

Method:

Heat oil in a pan. Add the bay leaves, cumin seeds, cumin powder. When the seeds start to splutter, reduce to medium heat and add the onion, garlic, chopped chilies and chili powder.

Fry on medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add the vegetables. Stir well and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the vinegar and 75 cl of boiling water. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat again. Simmer for about 15 minutes until vegetables are tender.

Add the beans and cook for 5 more minutes.

The original recipe did not mention about blending the soup before serving. So, it is up to you to choose the consistency you prefer. As I prefer my soups blended, with only a few chunks, I blended it quickly (that is to say that I just kept the mixie on for 30 seconds, so the mixture was not completely liquid).

Add a scoop of cooked rice in each bowl before serving.

L’une des raisons pour lesquelles j’aime participer à des événements sur les blogs, est que c’est un excellent moyen de sortir de ma routine  habituelle en cuisine, que ça m’inspire dans l’utilisation de certains ingrédients ou me pousse à faire des recherches sur des cuisines encore inconnues …

Quand j’ai lu que Joanne avait choisi Porto Rico pour son événement mensuel de recettes régionales, j’ai dû faire des recherches sur la cuisine de Porto Rico. Je n’avais en effet encore jamais goûté à la nourriture des Caraïbes jusqu’à maintenant … En plus, en étant végétarienne, les choses ont été un peu plus compliquées que prévu … Mais finalement, j’ai opté pour une soupe aux haricots noirs, qui m’ avait l’air très bonne.

Je voulais vraiment suivre la recette à la lettre, mais une fois que tout était prêt pour la recette, j’ai réalisé que j’avais oublié le principal ingrédient: les haricots noirs … Je les ai donc remplacés par des haricots rouges, qui ont je pense, les mêmes aspect et goût …

Le résultat est très savoureux et de nourissant. Je vais certainement la refaire, lorsque le temps sera un peu plus frais (c’est à dire très bientôt…).

Ingrédients pour environ 4 bols:

recette adaptée à partir d’ici

300 g de haricots noirs cuits (j’ai utilisé des haricots rouges …)
2 cuillères à soupe d’huile
1 gros oignon, haché
2 gousses d’ail, finement hachées
2 poivron vert, coupé
1 tomate, coupée
2 piments, hachés
1 carotte, coupée
2 feuilles de laurier
1 cuillère à café d’origan
1 / 2 cuillère à café de graines de cumin
1 cuillère à café de cumin en poudre
1 / 4 c. à thé de piment de Cayenne
sel et poivre
1 cuillère à soupe vinaigre
1 cuillère à soupe de riz cuit par bol servi

Préparation:

Chauffer l’huile dans une poêle. Ajouter les feuilles de laurier, les graines de cumin, le cumin en poudre. Quand les graines commencent à sauter, réduire à feu moyen et ajouter l’oignon, l’ail, le piment haché et la poudre de piment.

Cuire à feu moyen pendant environ 5 minutes. Ajouter les légumes. Bien mélanger et cuire pendant environ 5 minutes. Ajouter le vinaigre et 75 cl d’eau bouillante. Porter à ébullition puis réduire le feu à nouveau. Laisser mijoter pendant environ 15 minutes jusqu’à ce que les légumes soient tendres.

Ajouter les haricots et laisser cuire pendant 5 minutes.

La recette originale n’a pas mentionné s’il fallait mixer la soupe avant de la servir. Donc, c’est à vous de choisir , selon la consistance que vous préférez. Comme je préfère mon soupes mixée, avec seulement quelques petits  morceaux, je l’ai mixée rapidement (c’est-à-dire que j’ai appuyé sur le bouton pendant 30 secondes, et que le mélange n’était pas complètement liquide).

Ajouter une boule de riz cuit dans chaque bol avant de servir.

J’envoie cette soupe à aux Regional recipes: Puerto Rico de Joanne et aux soupes du Ramadhan de Kouky du très beau blog: Cuisine à quatre mains.

23 thoughts on “Puerto Rican Bean Soup

  1. Thanks so much for your submission! It is definitely hard to find vegetarian food from countries that base so much of their meals around pork. But they do eat a lot of rice and beans and plantains! I have a cookbook called Tropical Vegan Kitchen that veganizes a lot of tropical food from these countries…it’s a great resource.

    Anyway, the soup looks excellent! I would love to sit down to a big bowl of it.

    • This book sound very interesting to me! The thing is that here in Switzerland, there are not many carribbean restaurants. Actually, I have never seen any, but should start researching 😉

  2. cette soupe est une totale découverte pour moi, comme quoi!!!!!!
    ce mélange de légumes et de saveurs doit être très agréable en bouche
    vous avez dû vous régaler, bravo pour cette délicieuse recette
    bonne journée

    • Merci. ça a été une découverte pour nous aussi, et j’ai bien aimé l’association du cumin avec l’origan et le laurier!

  3. en lisant ton introduction, je souris car c’est exactement pour les même raisons que je participe à ces événements sur les blogs, ça me pousse à me lancer des défis et à les relever!! et c’est merveilleux de faire de nouvelles découvertes!!
    merci beaucoup pour cette délicieuse soupe!! bises!

    • Merci ma chère Kouky, c’est vrai que ça nous pousse à être créatives!! certainement pour le bonheur de notre entourage, qui n’aura pas souvent les mêmes menus 😉
      Bises à toi aussi!

  4. Pingback: les soupes de Ramadhan « Cuisine à 4 mains

  5. I am a HUGE fan of black bean soup. In fact, I went to a Cuban restaurant last night and had to order it even though it’s been 90+ degrees this past week. I just can’t resist.

  6. I’m with Patty! These pics really show how wholesome this soup looks up close and personal;) Oh, and I would love to have a bowl of this after a long day of fasting, so what a great addition to Kouky’s list (smile)…Yeah!

Leave a comment