Savoury Oat & Millet Cookies – Cookies épicés à l’avoine et au millet

By now, you probably know about my terrible addiction to savoury cookies and crackers… So when my Mum offered me Cléa’s new book called “Croquez Salé!” (Bite into something savoury) I was really thrilled, knowing that Cléa’s recipes are always healthy and tasty!

So far, I have already tried 3 recipes from her book! I absolutely love the “cookies au salers et flocons d’avoine”. The first time, I follow scrupulously her instructions and ingredients… For the second and third times, well, I got carried away by my enthusiasm and tried to add some ingredients and remove some others…

These cookies are great for a cocktail, far more healthy and original than crisps! They can also be a great nutritious complement to a salad or a soup. And of course, they are an all-time lovely snack…

I am sending these savoury cookies to Priya’s Easy and Tasty recipes, who is hosting CWF- Oat,  CWF (cooking with Whole Food) is an event started by Kiran.

 

Here is my third version / adaptation from Cléa’s recipe:

Ingredients for about 20 cookies (5cm diameter)
50g oat meal
50 g millet flakes
100g wholemeal flour
50g grated parmesan cheese
20g sesame seeds
2 tsp mustard seeds
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp red chilli powder (less if you do not like it too hot!)
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
5 tblsp olive oil

Method:
Preheat the oven at 180°C.
Combine all the dry ingredients together.
Add the olive oil and mix well, until it has the texture of a crumble.
Beat the eggs and pour onto the mixture. Stir well until it become a sticky dough.
Take out a small ball of dough, the size of a walnut and flatten it until it is 0.5cm thick.
Put it on a baking tray, covered with baking paper and repeat the operation until all the dough is used.
Bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool down before tasting…

Je pense que maintenant tout le monde connaît ma terrible dépendance aux biscuits et crackers salés…  Alors, quand ma mère m’a offert le nouveau livre de Cléa “Croquez Salez!”, j”ai été vraiment ravie, sachant que les recettes de Cléa sont toujours saines et savoureuses!

Jusqu’à présent, j’ai déjà essayé 3 recettes de son livre! J’adore particulièrement celle des “cookies au Salers et aux flocons d’avoine ” que j’ai déjà préparés 3 fois, oui, oui, 3 fois en une semaine… La première fois, j’ai suivi scrupuleusement toutes ses instructions et ingrédients … Pour les deuxième et troisième fois, eh bien, j’ai été emportée par mon enthousiasme et j’ai ajouté quelques ingrédients et enlevés certains autres …

Ces cookies sont super pour un apéro, car ils sont bien plus sains et originaux que des chips! Ils sont aussi un bon complément à une salade ou une soupe.

Voici ma donc ma troisième version/adaptation de la recette de Cléa:

Ingrédients pour environ 20 cookies (5cm de diamètre)
50g flocons d’avoine
50 g de flocons de millet
100g de farine complète
50g de parmesan râpé
20g de graines de sésame
2 c à c de graines de moutarde
1 / 2 c. à c. de curcuma
1 / 2 c.à c de poudre de piment rouge (moins si vous n’aimez pas trop épicé!)
1 / 2 c. à c. de poivre noir fraîchement moulu
1 / 2 c. à c. de sel
2 oeufs
5 c. à soupe d’huile d’olive

Préparation:
Préchauffer le four à 180 ° C.
Mélanger tous les ingrédients secs.
Ajouter l’huile d’olive et mélangez bien, jusqu’à ce que  la texture soit celle d’un crumble.
Battre les oeufs et versez sur le mélange. Bien remuer jusqu’à ce qu’elle forme une pâte un peu collante.
Prendre une petite boule de pâte, de la taille d’une noix et aplatissez jusqu’à ce qu’elle ait 0,5 cm d’épaisseur.
Déposer sur une plaque à pâtisserie couverte de papier cuisson et répéter l’opération jusqu’à ce que toute la pâte est utilisée.
Cuire au four pendant 20 minutes. Laisser refroidir avant de déguster …

16 thoughts on “Savoury Oat & Millet Cookies – Cookies épicés à l’avoine et au millet

  1. Uh …great ones!!! love the idea of savory cookies and you used some spices i really love!!! an idea i’ll copy!!! just need to buy millet!!!
    ciaoooo!!!! 🙂

    • Hi Terry,
      If you don’t have millet flakes, you can use only the oat flakes. The original version had only oat, but I like to add millet because of the numerous nutriments it has! 😉

  2. j’adore la présentation dans cette petite boîte toute jolie! est-ce que je peux mettre de la moutarde au lieu des graines de moutardes?

    • Merci. Je n’ai jamais essayé avec de la moutarde. Je suppose qu’il faudrait mettre un tout petit peu plus d’avoine ou de farine pour la texture.

  3. Pingback: Cooking With Whole Foods – Oats Roundup | DesiFood Buzz - Exclusive indian food recipes straight from Indian kitchen.

Leave a comment